Latest updates: UK house prices rise with record average of £ 252,687


Omicron has been detected in at least 20 countries, as governments around the world impose restrictions to limit the spread of the latest variant of the coronavirus.

Nigeria joined the list on Wednesday, while Hong Kong reported a fourth infection upon the arrival of a traveler from Qatar.

“Further epidemiological investigations revealed that the patient traveled from Papua New Guinea to Nigeria on November 15 and then traveled from Qatar to Hong Kong,” the Hong Kong government said on Wednesday.

Omicron has been identified in Australia, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, French Reunion Island, Germany, Hong Kong, Israel, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Nigeria, Portugal, South Africa, Spain , Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Cases of the coronavirus variant have also been reported in Norway and Saudi Arabia.

Countries around the world have imposed travel restrictions with Japan’s Transport Ministry calling on Wednesday that international airlines stop taking new bookings for all flights to Japan until the end of December.

Nigeria has identified its first cases of Omicron “in three people who traveled to South Africa,” the Nigeria Center for Disease Control said on Wednesday.

“The NCDC assumes that Omicron is prevalent around the world given the increasing number of countries reporting this variant,” added the NCDC.


About Alma Ackerman

Check Also

Winning numbers drawn in the game ‘Mega Millions’ | State

Country the United States of AmericaUS Virgin IslandsU.S. Minor Outlying IslandsCanadaMexico, United Mexican StatesBahamas, Commonwealth …